top of page

High School Career

Good afternoon everybody and welcome to my second blog post! Today I would like to talk about the next step I faced in my music career; High School. Growing up, I always knew that my school had the best show choir around and I was beyond eager to get the chance to be a part of it. My big brother Bri was always in “Harmony”, (this was the name of our co-ed show choir). My brother graduated high school when I graduated 8th grade. My freshman year comes around and I have been looking forward to auditioning for this for years! I was so nervous. I also auditioned for “Mystique”, which is only women’s show choir. My high school was not very big at all so there weren’t a whole lot of people auditioning. There were only about 3 or 4 people who auditioned that didn’t get to be a part of “Harmony”. Unfortunately, I was one of them. I was absolutely devastated. I did everything correct and I thought I truly deserved it. When I found out my heart sank to my stomach and I immediately started balling like a baby. I wanted this more than I ever wanted anything. On the bright side, I did get to be a part of “Mystique” my freshman year.

The following years, I continued doing show choir. Unfortunately, our school went through music teachers like it was nobody’s business and by the time my senior year came around, the show choir was nothing like it used to be. A lot of people dropped out and didn’t want to do it anymore. I was so disappointed. I continued to do both Harmony and Mystique because I had a passion for singing, dancing, being under the lights, being up on that stage, just being an all-around entertainer.

Once a year my school would do something called a “Dinner Theatre”. This was always my favorite because it was similar to a talent show. We always had a different theme every year and I was always somehow trying to be a part of it. My freshman year I decided to sing “Tear Drops on my Guitar” by Taylor Swift and boy was that an experience. It was basically my first time ever being up on the stage all by myself, just singing my little heart out. Sophomore year I chose to sing “It’s the Climb” by Miley Cyrus. This was the year I had my older brother Bri play the guitar for me while I sang. I was truly a never forgettable moment. I remember I dedicated that song to my mom and dad who of course wouldn’t miss it for the world. I am extremely fortunate to have such supportive parents and family. My Junior year I sang “Cowboy Casanova” by Carrie Underwood and to this day I am surprised I ever chose that song. And finally my senior year, I actually didn’t sing that year but I did do a skit with one of my best friends at the time. It was absolutely hilarious, just thinking about it makes me laugh. We made up our own skit as chefs, with our cute little apron on and flour all over our faces and clothes. The skit was about an apple pie and I believe we started fighting over it. Eventually, we had made a complete mess of the pie and we both had it all over our faces by the end of it. It seriously was a blast. Well that is enough for now, I hope you all enjoyed learning a little bit about my high school singing career!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page