top of page

American Idol


Hello hello! I am very excited to talk about my experience I had when I went to audition for American Idol! First off, I had been watching American Idol since the 2nd season that came out. It was always a family tradition to sit down and have a family night and watch it every time it came on. It turned out to be a great bonding time for my mom and dad and I. It has always been a huge dream of mine to actually go and audition so as soon as I possibly could, when I turned 16 I found out where the auditions were and I went for it. Unfortunately, the closest audition was in Milwaukee Wisconsin!! Thank God I have such amazing parents who allowed me to chase after my dream. So, my mom, brother Bri, and my sister-in-law Amanda all jumped in the car and headed for Milwaukee!!

My Aunt Shannon lives in Indiana so on our way up, we thought, “hey why don’t we leave a little earlier and spend some time in Indiana and stay with Aunt Shannon!”, and that’s what we did J. First of all, the car ride took forever but boy did we have fun! While we were in Indiana, we got to spend some nice family bonding time with my Aunt Shannon and a few of my cousins, it was such a great start to a wonderful journey! I remember Aunt Shannon took us to a luau. We all got dressed up and I also got to sing karaoke that night, it was a blast. After a short visit, we were headed for Milwaukee.

Let’s talk about the whole process of auditioning for this. We had to get our wrist bands the day we got there. The next morning was audition day. Mom and I woke up at like 3:30 in the morning so that we could get in line soon as we could and we were still way back of the line. We waited outside in the line, the sun came up, and finally we were able to walk in at about 7 a.m. Once we got in we had to find our seats. This arena was huge; I believe there were about 12 to 13,000 people auditioning that day. They had 12 tables down in the bottom with 2 judges or producers at each table. There 5 of us that went up in a line at once. It was quite the bummer when they started with the next row over and went all the way around the arena until finally they got to me. Mom and I waited for so many hours. Finally, they get to my row and all of us get up there with 4 other people standing next to me. We had about 15 seconds to show off our voice and if we didn’t get that golden ticket then we don’t proceed to the next round. You have to go through quite a few auditions before ever seeing the real judges. It was hard to focus because there are so many other people singing at the same time and it is a lot of pressure. I sang “Listen” by Beyonce and unfortunately did not get to go to the next round. I was highly bummed out but I would trade that journey for the world. So that evening my Mom, brother, and sister in law all took me out to Dave and Busters for the first time and we had an absolute blast. They knew exactly how to cheer me up and I am so happy I got to be with them on that journey. That is about it for my American Idol experience. I will continue talking about my other auditions in my other blog posts so keep reading!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page