top of page

Led Zeppelin Cover Band


Starting off the year of 2013, I began to be the lead singer of my first cover band called “Black Jack Row”. This was by the far the biggest learning experience I have tackled in my singing career. It was my sophomore year in college, spring semester when I was reached out to on Facebook by someone who claimed he was looking for a singer for his Led Zeppelin cover band. We worked out an audition date, I had my best friend come with me and that was that. I fit right in. So, every Wednesday I would drive to Stover Missouri to have band rehearsal. I can honestly say I was very grateful to have my best friend with me every step of the way.

I had one month until we had our first show and oh my goodness I was SO nervous. I had to learn about 40 songs and 85% of them I had never heard of. I hadn’t listened to Led Zeppelin very often before entering the band but I soon began to appreciate it and many other musicians. We played some ZZ Top, Allman Brothers, Jimi Hendrix, Lenny Kravitz, and so many other great artists. I enjoyed having our shows and traveling from place to place like Kansas City, to Jeff City, or just small towns around Sedalia and Warrensburg area. It was like I was living the dream I always wanted.

This was a really great time for my mom and I to have some genuine bonding time together. She would come out to every show she could possibly attend to and I loved seeing her happy and dancing to the music. I am so thankful to have such a supportive family and I believe I made them proud. My Dad doesn’t get out much but there was one show I remember specifically he finally came to and that was a memory I’ll never forget. The look on his face when I caught a glance of him in the audience, it was just amazing. All of the support I got from my friends and my family truly made me so happy.

I loved being a part of this band and I was in it for about 2 years; officially from February 2013 to May of 2015. I had just turned 21 when I decided to quit the band. Still to this day I wonder how different things would be if I would have stuck with it. Don’t get me wrong, I loved being in Black Jack Row and I loved my band mates, but with college and being so young I just had a strong feeling that maybe it was time to move on and see what else comes my way. I got to experience being in a cover band and there is no way I would trade it for the world. Ever since then I have been focusing on writing my own music and using UCM’s studios to record them and work on things. I fly solo now and I enjoy it, maybe one day I will find another band to be in or who knows what will happen in my singing career but I am excited to see where my journey leads me! Thank you for all of you who take the time to read my blog, stay tuned and next blog I will start talking about my experiences with auditioning for American Idol when I was 16!! Thanks again everyone and have a wonderful Halloween weekend!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page