top of page

X-Factor


Good evenin’ everyone J I will be talking about my second audition I have traveled to which was for the X-Factor. I was 18 at the time and the audition was actually in Kansas City this time! Of course, my wonderful Momma joined me as usual and this time my nephew Kale and my sister Jessie came with me. So, we are all standing in line, the sun hasn’t come up yet and I was working on my poster that said my name and X-Factor on it. We got there pretty early but as soon as the sun came up, cameras started flying by. I was holding out my poster when the next thing I know, a camera man comes up to me and asks me to sing the song I am going to sing for my audition. I was beyond NERVOUS…. This was the first time I had ever had a camera on me up close and personal. My heart was being so fast, I had to think fast, my voice was trembling. As you can see above I posted the video of the guy who caught me in action. I am so happy that I got this on tape! I started singing “Lean on Me” by Bill Withers and to my surprise, shortly after I had been singing for a few seconds’ people started to sing with me! This was such a great experience. There are so many things I wish I would have done or could have done that would have made that performance 100% better but it is what it is.

The audition was very similar to the way that American Idol’s audition was set up just not quite as many people. I marched up there and sang my song and again did not proceed to the next round unfortunately. On the bright side, it was such an amazing experience and I wouldn’t trade it for the world. It has now been 5 years since that audition and it is incredible how far my voice has come. I will continue singing and performing and will always go to any audition that is close by because you never know what will come from it. We all get knocked down in life, it is just up to us to choose to get back up and keep fighting or not.

If you watch the video, the young girl standing next to me became a new friend of mine. I believe she was 3 years younger than me but we became friends and sang together while we waited in line. I love getting to meet new people, especially other musicians and people who share the same passion as I do. Well, that is all I have for today. I have one more audition experience that I will be talking about in my next blog so keep reading! Everybody have a great day today J


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page